Portishead in Bloom logo

Privacy Policy

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share via e-mail Share on Google Bookmarks

Site Map

Search this site ...

John Daws Trophy

The trophy has been awarded to the person/persons or groups who is/are considered to have given their time freely for the benefit of the town of Portishead during the past year. John Daws was a councillor for Portishead and North Somerset Council for many years and the cup was donated by John's family.

It was first presented in 2006 together with a cheque for £100. The cheque has been donated by various media companies over the past years. Portishead in Bloom ask for nominations for the award and then make the final decision. A presentation is made to the winner at our Celebration Evening in November.



Keith Southey – for all his hard work and unstinted effort during the scorching summer, watering the tubs and baskets.


Tracey Fowler – for publicising and supporting many community groups and charities in the town through her journalism.


Stuart Hamer – Chairman of the Portishead Lights Committee


Dave Herbert – for services to Portishead Lifeboat


Susan and Bob Gidden – for their work in designing and making banners for summer display in the High Street


Morgan Westley – for supporting all local events by selling tickets in their shop


Mike and Edna Burt – for their work in supporting local charities


Ann Hailwood – for her work at Portishead Open Air Pool


Gordon Randall – Chairman of Portishead in Bloom


Portishead Open Air Pool – for saving and establishing the future of the pool


Jemma Cooper and Wendy Watkins – for running Portishead Carnival in June


Christmas Lights Committee – for the wonderful displays of lights during the Christmas season


Mr. & Mrs J Tovey – for their work for Portishead Horticultural Society